Português Español

Our mission has been established by the demands of our men afflicted with prostate cancer. Their voice has been clear
and unwavering while asking us all to join them and to help others who may become affected in the future.

Dr. Sampath Parthasarathy obtained his Ph.D. degree from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India in 1974. He spent one year at the Kyoto University, Japan as a postdoctoral fellow and subsequently joined the Duke University at Durham, NC. He then joined the Hormel Institute, University of Minnesota and became an Assistant Professor.

From 1983-1993 Dr. Parthasarathy was a member of the faculty and reached the rank of professor at the University of California at San Diego. He was closely associated with Dr. Daniel Steinberg, with whom he developed the concept of oxidized LDL.

In 1993 he was invited to become the director of research division in the department of Gynecology and Obstetrics at Emory University. He held the title of McCord-Cross professor in the Department of Gynecology and Obstetrics and in the Department of Medicine at the Emory University. He joined LSUHSC in November 2003 as Frank Lowe Professor of Graduate Studies and holds the rank of Professor of Pathology. He holds joint appointment as Professor of Medicine and directs the Center on CAOS (center on Antioxidants and Oxidation Systems). He joined The Ohio State University as the Klassen Chair of Cardiothoracic surgery and developed a large animal model for heart failure. He is currently at University of Central Florida as the Florida Hospital Chair in Cardiovascular Sciences and professor of medicine. He also serves as the Interim Associate Dean of Research.

Dr. Parthasarathy has published over 250 articles has written a book "Modified Lipoproteins in the Pathogenesis of atherosclerosis." He has served on numerous editorial boards and NIH committees. He also has a MBA degree in technology management.

He has been continuously funded by NIOH and other agencies for over 30 years and he was awarded the Scientific Achievement Award for his contribution to vascular biology by the American Heart Association and by the American Association of Cardiologists of Indian Origin and from SASAT International. He is also the recipient of the prestigious Ranbaxy Award for excellence in cardiovascular research.